2021 NEXT Awards


The 2021 NEXT Awards celebrated the achievements of those who dug deep, adapted, and created new opportunities over the last year on October 25, 2021 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center.


Healthcare Category Winners

Healthcare Emerging: Advocatia


Healthcare Market Mover: MediCopy


Products, Services and Retail Category Winners

Products, Services and Retail Emerging: Granite Test Prep


Products, Services and Retail Market Mover: Thistle Farms


Technology Category Winners

Technology Emerging: CodeX Academy


Technology Market Mover: Stratasan


Music, Sports and Entertainment Category Winners

Music, Sports and Entertainment Emerging: Bauer Entertainment Marketing


Music, Sports and Entertainment Market Mover: mtheory Nashville


Real Estate, Construction and Hospitality Category Winners

Real Estate, Construction and Hospitality Emerging: Pillars Development


Real Estate, Construction and Hospitality Market Mover: Certified Construction Services


Emerging Entrepreneur of 2021: Josh Mundy, founder of Pivot Technology School



Entrepreneur of 2021: Travis Messina, founder of Contessa


2021 Entrepreneurs’ Hall of Fame Inductees

Leatrice McKissack

Founded in 1905, McKissack & McKissack was one of the first African American professional firms in Nashville.

Lucius E. Burch, III

Lucius E. Burch, III, chairman and CEO of Burch Investment Group took 17 companies to the NYSE.

The Honorable Phil Bredesen

Phil Bredesen former Nashville Mayor & Tennessee Governor, he’s a serial founder of healthcare and solar energy businesses

Trisha Yearwood

Country superstar, best-selling author, chef, business owner, and television personality, Yearwood is a nonstop entrepreneur, always building her brand further and exploring new ventures.

NEXT Award Committee Chairs

Sherry Stewart Deutschmann and Mark Deutschmann

Entrepreneurs’ Hall of Fame

The Entrepreneurs’ Hall of Fame honors our city’s most iconic entrepreneurs who have built long standing and meaningful careers in Nashville.

As a legacy organization built to support Nashville’s founders for generations to come, our mission is to help entrepreneurs on their journey to create, launch, and grow businesses. We dedicate a special night to recognize our city’s pioneers and today’s up and coming change-makers for their drive, perseverance, and vision.

Past Hall of Fame honorees include:

Hal Cato
Tod Fetherling
John Ingram
Clayton McWhorter
Cordia Harrington
Wayne Smith
Richard Henry Boyd
Dan Crockett
Raymond Louis Danner, Sr.
Sherry Deutschmann
Ken Levitan
Darrell Freeman
Joey Jacobs
Cal Turner
Becca Stevens
Jon Yarbrough
Kix Brooks
Jose Gonzalez
Maria Clara Mejia
Renata Soto
Shannon Terry
Scott Borchetta
Tom Cigarran
Ron Samuels
Beth Chase
Charlie Martin
Dolly Parton







Media Partner